July 12, 2020


… you'll ever need

Big DC nations bumped to zonals

One consequence of the shortened new format is that solid Davis Cup nations were unable to qualify for the November final.

And so, Switzerland, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Austria, Slovakia and Portugal have to head down to the zonals – not even with a direct shot at a playoff tie. Players like Roger Federer, Stan Wawrinka and Dominic Thiem won’t be in Madrid – even if they wanted to.

Germany’s Alexander Zverev says he won’t play in Madrid. Great Britain (which likely won’t have Andy Murray) gets a wild card to the final round.

Meet the “new” Davis Cup.