April 18, 2024

Open Court


ATP Madrid – Thursday, April 27, 2023 final results

No singles seeds in action yet. But with former Grand Slam champions Dominic Thiem and Andy Murray in action on the main stadium, there was plenty of star power.

Beyond that, Banja Luka champion Dusan Lajovic was back to build upon that long-in-coming ATP Tour title. He played Aussie Jason Kubler, and beat him.

He’ll now take on Félix Auger-Aliassime.

Overall, seven qualifiers, one wild card and one lucky loser were in action Thursday. All of them but one (Rodionov, vs. Zhang) were victorious.

(Madrid is six hours ahead of EDT).


Mutua Madrid Open
Location: Madrid, Spain
Surface: Outdoor Clay
Category: ATP 1000 (Joint event with the WTA Tour)
April 26 – May 7, 2023
Prize money: €8,736,536
Draws: S96 – D32

Thursday, April 27, 2023
Final results

Singles, first round

Qualifiers, WC and LL winners

[WC] Dominic Thiem (AUT) def. [PR] Kyle Edmund (GBR) 64 61

[Q] Marco Cecchinato (ITA) def Marton Fucsovics (HUN) 76 (4) 63
[Q] Aslan Karatsev (RUS) def Laslo Djere (SRB) 76 (5) 75
[Q] Roman Safiullin (RUS) def Nicolas Jarry (CHI) 62 36 63
[Q] Alexander Shevchenko (RUS) def J.J. Wolf (USA) 64 64
[Q] Andrea Vavassori (ITA) def Andy Murray (GBR) 62 76 (7)
[Q] Yosuke Watanuki (JPN) def Corentin Moutet (FRA) 63 63

[LL] Jan-Lennard Struff (GER) def Lorenzo Sonego (ITA) 63 61

Other results (in alphabetical order)

Pedro Cachin (ARG) def. [WC] Abdullah Shelbayh (JOR) 61 64
Tomas Martin Etcheverry (ARG) def Adrian Mannarino (FRA) 64 60
Cristian Garin (CHI) def. Marc-Andrea Huesler (SUI) 76 (5) 62
Marcos Giron (USA) def. Nuno Borges (POR) 62 76 (7)
Dusan Lajovic (SRB)
def Jason Kubler (AUS) 63 63
Christopher O’Connell (AUS) def. Filip Krajinovic (SRB) 64 67 (2) 62
Bernabe Zapata Miralles (ESP)
def Mackenzie McDonald (USA) 36 63 76 (4)
Zhizhen Zhang (CHN) def [Q] Jurij Rodionov (AUT) 76 (6) 64

Doubles, first round

[6] Lloyd Glasspool (GBR) / Harri Heliovaara (FIN) def Hubert Hurkacz (POL) / Ben Shelton (USA) 64 76 (3)
[7] Rohan Bopanna (IND) / Matthew Ebden (AUS) def. Roberto Bautista Agut (ESP) / Daniel Evans (GBR) 63 76 (4)

Marcelo Melo (BRA) / Alexander Zverev (GER) def Alejandro Davidovich Fokina (ESP) / Emil Ruusuvuori (FIN) 76 (6) 63
Nathaniel Lammons / Jackson Withrow (USA) def Alex de Minaur (AUS) / Grigor Dimitrov (BUL) 76 (6) 76 (5)


About Post Author