November 24, 2023

Open Court


It’s ATP year-end awards time – help inform Open Court’s vote

(Photo: ATP Tour)

Yup, it’s that time of the season again.

The ATP Tour and WTA Tours ask the tennis media to vote for their various awards.

And before we do it, we’d like your feedback because there’s no way we can see and read everything.

There might be players the ATP has missed and not included on these lists, that deserve recognition.

So … here we go.


How it works: The ATP submits lists to members of the International Tennis Writers Association for each of the following awards

  1. Comeback Player of the Year
  2. Most Improved Player of the Year
  3. Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award

The media is to select four players in each category, and rank them 1 through 4. If there’s a player we think deserves consideration but isn’t on the list, we can write them in.

Those four nominees are then sent to the player group, which ultimately votes on the awards.

The WTA awards work differently; we’ll get to those in a separate post.

Comeback Player of the Year

The 2021 winner was American Mackenzie McDonald, with the other nominees Thanasi Kokkinakis, Andy Murray, and Jack Sock.

Most Improved Player of the Year

Last year’s winner was Aslan Karatsev; the other nomineed were Carlos Alcaraz, Cameron Norrie, and Casper Ruud.

(Crazy how time flies).

Here are the nominees for 2022 – a LONG list.

Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award

Rafael Nadal won it in 2021. The other nominees were New-Gens: Frances Tiafoe, Félix Auger-Aliassime and Casper Ruud.

(No, we don’t know why they’re alphabetical by first name).

Let Open Court know your thoughts – players that might have been missed on these lists, who you would vote for.

Leave those ideas in the comments section, or on Twitter or Facebook as soon as you can.

Thank you!

About Post Author