July 22, 2024

Open Court


Miami – Tuesday, March 21, 2023 men’s final results

MIAMI, Fla. –   The schedule is different in Miami than it was in Indian Wells, in that the women’s qualifying began on Sunday and the main draw on Tuesday, while the men’s qualifying began Monday and the main draw on Wednesday.

So the matches on the men’s side Tuesday were final-round qualifying matches.

Notable: Benoit Paire vs Thanasi Kokkinakis. With Paire winning in three.

Also – Canadian-Chilean Alejandro Tabilo met his Chilean countryman, Cristian Garin. He was up an early break in the first set, but ended up bowing out in two.

There are three lucky losers: O’Connell, Kovacevic and Kokkinakis (with four picked, No. 5 qualies seed Zhang Zhizhen ended up with the short straw).


Miami Open
Location: Miami, Fla. (ATP 1000)
Outdoor Hard
Dates: March 22 – April 2, 2023
Prize money: $10,155,105
Draw size: S96 / D32

Tuesday, March 21, 2023
Final results
Qualifying, final round

(1st-round opponents in brackets)

[7] Cristian Garin (CHI) def. Alejandro Tabilo (CHI) 76 (5) 61 (Marcos Giron)

[8] Daniel Altmaier (GER) def. Geoffrey Blancaneaux (FRA) 62 62 (Ilya Ivashka)
[1] Nuno Borges (POR) def. [18] Borna Gojo (CRO) 64 67 (6) 76 (6) (Emil Ruusuvuori)
[10] Christopher Eubanks (USA) def Lukas Klein (SVK) 67 (2) 63 76 (4) (Denis Kudla)
[15] Pavel Kotov (RUS) def. [11] Radu Albot (MDA) 62 63 (Tomas Martin Etcheverry)
Felipe Meligeni Alves (BRA) def Timofey Skatov (KAZ) 64 76 (5) (Facundo Bagnis)
[WC] Benoit Paire (FRA) def [6] Thanasi Kokkinakis (AUS) 64 46 75 ([Q] Yosuke Watanuki)
[12] Roman Safiullin (RUS) def. Filip Misolic (AUT) 63 63 (Grégoire Barrere)
[24] Jan-Lennard Struff (GER) def. [5] Zhizhen Zhang (CHN) 64 62 (Fabio Fognini)
[3] Jordan Thompson (AUS) def. [21] Tomas Machac (CZE) 64 36 63 (Alex Molcan)
Aleksandar Vukic  (AUS) def. [9] Aleksandar Kovacevic (USA) 63 76 (4) (Laslo Djere)
[19] Yosuke Watanuki (JPN) def. [2] Christopher O’Connell (AUS) 64 64 ([Q] Benoit Paire)

[LL] Thanasi Kokkinakis ([WC] Zizou Bergs)
[LL] Alexander Kovavevic (Jaume Munar)
[LL] Christopher O’Connell (Richard Gasquet)


About Post Author